rauisch header









Organizers: Konrad P. Körding, Michael S. Landy, and Julia Trommershäuser 
Funded by the
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Traditionally, research in robotics, artificial intelligence, computational neuroscience and cognitive science follow different goals in the development and application of computational models. The goal of research in the field of artificial intelligence and robotics is to understand and ultimately copy the human brain’s ability to quickly decode, efficiently process and represent relevant information. On the other hand, research in the area of computational neuroscience aims to apply computational models to test hypotheses about brain architecture and neural coding of information based on experimental evidence gained through electrophysiology, EEG, fMRI and psychophysics. In between these two extremes lies cognitive science, which aims to provide models of human behavior in cognitive tasks, but often at a more general level that does not map neatly onto specific neural components. Recent work, however, has highlighted the importance of integrating knowledge across all these disciplines.

This conference aims to bring together leading researchers from the fields of computational neuroscience, artificial intelligence, robotics and vision to discuss theoretical approaches to modeling human sensory processing and multi-sensory integration. The workshop will focus particularly on applying computational concepts and models to sensory cue integration. Selected participants will be able to present and discuss their own work. 

Confirmed speakers include Dora Angelaki (Washington University School of Medicine), Ben Backus (SUNY College of Optometry), Martin Banks (UC Berkeley), Ulrik Beierholm (California Institute of Technology), David Burr (Università di Firenze, and Istituto di Neuroscienze del CNR), Sophie Deneve (Institut des Sciences Cognitives, Bron), Fulvio Domini (Brown University), Marc Ernst (MPI for Biological Kybernetics), Robert Jacobs (University of Rochester), Konrad Körding (Northwestern University), Michael Landy (New York University), Wei-Ji Ma (Baylor College of Medicine), Pascal Mamassian (CNRS & Université Paris 5), Maneesh Sahani (UC London), Paul Schrater (University of Minnesota), Ladan Shams (UC Los Angeles), Charles Spence (Oxford University), Julia Trommershäuser (Giessen University), Sethu Vijayakumar (University of Edinburgh), Pedro Rosas (MPI for Biological Kybernetics), Andrew Welchman (University of Birmingham), Richard Zemel (University of Toronto).