Cardinal mechanisms of perception: Prediction, Valuation, Categorization

Perception is arguably the most basic and most important function of our mind, because it provides the sole source of information about the environment. Our senses present us with a window into the world, enabling us to take up information from the surrounding world. Perception, by contrast, is the process by which this information is interpreted, a “making sense of the senses”. Research on sensory processing has been immensely successful, but we want to understand how the human brain extracts meaning from these basic sensory signals. Previous attempts to understand perception have emphasized specific solutions to specific perceptual problems. Here we propose to understand perception in terms of a set of three underlying principles: Prediction, Valuation and Categorization. These cardinal mechanisms create and maintain sophisticated internal models of the world. The brain is the organ that continuously optimizes these internal models, enabling us to predict the future state of the environment and the consequences of actions, evaluate the potential risks and benefits of different stimuli and responses, and categorize a complex continuous world into discrete mental concepts and behaviors. Accordingly, we organize our proposal into three research areas:

A. Prediction. Project group A will investigate how perceptual predictions actively guide our sensors to acquire information optimally. We seek to understand how predictions allow us to discount the sensory consequences of our own actions and how they enable robust and efficient information uptake.

B. Valuation. Project group B will investigate how valuation processes weigh different sensory signals and action outcomes to maximize information gain and reward. We seek to understand how valuation both optimizes the immediate behavioral consequences of an action and continuously corrects internal models.

C. Categorization. Project group C will investigate how categories are inferred from regularities in the environment, across different domains, like perception and language. We seek to understand the advantages that effective categories entail for perception by emphasizing relevant information.

To obtain a comprehensive understanding of prediction, valuation and categorization, we deploy a unique combination of human behavioral experiments, physiology and modeling.  Our goal is to delineate the cardinal mechanisms behaviorally, to identify their underlying neural substrates and to explain their function with a computational model. In the long run, we seek to extend our investigation of the development of the cardinal mechanisms throughout the entire life span, and to uncover the functional role of their impairment in neurological and psychiatric disorders.

Kardinale Mechanismen der Wahrnehmung: Pr├Ądiktion, Bewertung, Kategorisierung

Wahrnehmung ist die wohl grundlegendste und wichtigste Funktion des menschlichen Geistes, da sie als einzige Quelle für Information aus der Umwelt dient. Die Sinne bieten uns ein Fenster zur Welt an, durch das wir Information aufnehmen können. Wahrnehmung hingegen ist der Prozess, der diese Signale interpretiert, der sozusagen erst „Sinn“ aus ihnen macht. Auf dem Gebiet der sensorischen Verarbeitung wurden in der Vergangenheit große Forschungserfolge erzielt, die sich aber überwiegend auf eng umschriebene Funktionsbereiche bezogen. Auf Grundlage dieser Ergebnisse wollen wir nun untersuchen, wie das menschliche Gehirn aus sensorischen Eingangssignalen übergeordnete Bedeutung ableitet. Dazu wollen wir Wahrnehmung umfassend auf der Basis dreier grundlegender Prinzipien erklären: Prädiktion, Bewertung und Kategorisierung. Diese „kardinalen Mechanismen“ erzeugen komplexe interne Modelle der Umwelt, welche im Gehirn stetig angepasst und verbessert werden. Dies ermöglicht uns, den künftigen Zustand der Umgebung sowie Handlungskonsequenzen vorherzusagen, die möglichen Risiken und Nutzen von Reizen und Reaktionen zu bewerten, und die unendliche Menge an Umweltreizen in diskrete Kategorien von Konzepten und Verhaltensweisen abzubilden. Unser Forschungsantrag gliedert sich folglich in drei Bereiche:

A. Prädiktion. Projektgruppe A untersucht, wie Vorhersagen unsere Sinnesorgane aktiv lenken um die optimale Informationsaufnahme zu gewährleisten. Wir wollen verstehen, wie einkommende Sinnessignale von den vorhergesagten sensorischen Konsequenzen unserer eigenen Handlungen bereinigt werden und die Informationsaufnahme dadurch verlässlich und effizient gestaltet wird.

B. Bewertung. Projektgruppe B untersucht, wie Bewertungsprozesse sensorische Signale und Handlungskonsequenzen gewichten, um den möglichen Zuwachs an Information und Belohnung zu maximieren. Wir wollen verstehen, wie Bewertung zur Optimierung von direkten Handlungskonsequenzen beiträgt und gleichzeitig dazu dient, die internen Modelle der Welt kontinuierlich zu verbessern.

C. Kategorisierung. Projektgruppe C untersucht, wie aus Regelmäßigkeiten in unserer Umwelt in verschiedenen Domänen wie Wahrnehmung und Sprache Kategorien gebildet werden. Wir wollen verstehen, wie Kategorien durch die Konzentration auf das Wesentliche unsere Wahrnehmung erleichtern.

Wir bieten eine einzigartige Kombination aus Verhaltensexperimenten, Physiologie und Modellierung auf, um zu einem umfassenden Verständnis von Vorhersage, Bewertung und Kategorisierung zu gelangen. Unser Ziel ist es, die kardinalen Mechanismen der Wahrnehmung auf der Verhaltensebene zu definieren, ihre neuronalen Substrate zu identifizieren und ihre Funktionsweise  mathematisch zu modellieren. Langfristig wollen wir die Entwicklung dieser Mechanismen über die gesamte Lebensspanne hinweg erfassen und die funktionelle Bedeutung ihrer Beeinträchtigungen bei neurologischen und psychiatrischen Erkrankungen untersuchen.